Taking just a few minutes to read these Thanksgiving safety tips could mean the difference between enjoying the holiday and having a turkey dinner end in disaster.
In Florida, you must have property damage liability and PIP coverage to register a vehicle or to renew your registration. The State of Florida does not require, except in limited circumstances, that you purchase bodily injury liability coverage, so it is frequently not purchased. Bodily injury liability insurance coverage protects you from a claim or lawsuit if you carelessly cause an auto accident that results in bodily injury to someone else. Since this coverage is not required a high percentage of drivers that you or your loved ones encounter on the road do not have any insurance to protect you and your family in the event of an accident that causes an injury.
Uninsured motorist coverage protects you and your family from a bodily injury caused by someone who has no bodily injury liability coverage. It is so important that Florida mandates to all insurance companies in Florida that they must offer you this coverage if you purchase bodily injury liability coverage. For example, if you purchase $50,000/$100,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, your insurer or insurance agent must give you the opportunity to buy uninsured motorist coverage in the amount of $50,000/$100,000 limits. They will also offer you the option to reject this coverage or select uninsured motorist coverage in a lower amount. State law mandates that if you select lower limits or chose to reject this coverage, the insurance company must get that decision in writing!
In addition, even if the person causing the accident has bodily injury liability coverage, your uninsured motorist coverage protects you when the monetary value of your injury claim exceeds the amount of that person's bodily injury liability coverage. An example will illustrate this point. You or a family member are injured in an automobile accident. Before the accident occurs, you purchased uninsured motorist coverage with limits of $50,000/$100,000. The party causing the accident has $10,000/$20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage. The monetary value of your claim is $50,000.00. Under this example, you will be able to collect $10,000 from the other person's bodily injury liability coverage and then collect the remaining value of your claim from your uninsured motorist coverage. In this example the uninsured motorist coverage would pay the additional $40,000.00, to fully compensate you for your loss.
Uninsured motorist coverage compensates you for damages in addition to lost wages or medical expenses that you incur. It compensates you for any permanent injury and the resulting pain it causes, any impairment in your ability to lead a normal life, any scarring you suffer, your disability or impairment in function and other human losses. Let's say you suffer a traumatic injury that severely limits your lifestyle and causes you significant daily pain. Your PIP or Medical Payments coverage will not cover these losses. However, uninsured motorist coverage will cover these losses and others.